Tan Sri Md Nor to Retire as SC Chairman; Dato' Zarinah Appointed Successor Effective 1 April

Kuala Lumpur, 2 March 2006

As announced by the Minister of Finance's Office today, Tan Sri Dato' Md Nor Yusof, Chairman of the Securities Commission, whose term expires on 31 March 2006, has indicated his desire to retire from the post.

YAB Prime Minister / Minister of Finance has appointed Dato' Zarinah Anwar to replace Tan Sri Md Nor Yusof as the Securities Commission Chairman with effect from 1 April 2006.

The Government thanked Tan Sri Md Nor Yusof for his excellent service during his tenure as Chairman of the Securities Commission, and acknowledged his substantial contribution to the regulation and development of the Malaysian capital market.

Dato' Zarinah Anwar is currently Deputy Chief Executive of the Securities Commission, a position Dato' Zarinah has held since her appointment to the Securities Commission on 1 December 2001. Dato' Zarinah, a lawyer by training, was previously with Shell for 22 years and was Deputy Chairman of Shell Malaysia, as well as the Director for Human Resources, Corporate Affairs and Legal.


about the SC
The Securities Commission Malaysia (SC) was established on 1 March 1993 under the Securities Commission Act 1993 (SCA). We are a self-funded statutory body entrusted with the responsibility to regulate and develop the Malaysian capital market.

General Line: +603-6204 8000
General Email: [email protected]
© Copyright Securities Commission Malaysia.  Contact Us   |    Disclaimer   |   The site is best viewed using Microsoft Edge and Google Chrome with minimum resolution of 1280x1024
Generic Popup